Documentation
Exporting

Export Options

Overview

Export options give you complete control over how you want your Kindle Highlights to be formatted when they are exported.

Your Export settings are automatically saved per Integration and file format. Your saved export preferences will be used for auto exports.

Accessing the Export Options

The export options are available whenever you perform an export via the Export page. To access them first select an Integration or File Download and then click the Show Advanced Export Options button.

Export options from wizard

The export options are also available on the Integrations Settings page by clicking the Open Settings button.

Export options from settings

Export Options

The export options are broken into the following sections.

File Format

The File Format option specifies which File Format your Kindle Highlights are exported to.

This option is only available for file based integrations like Dropbox, Google Drive and OneDrive.

Export options file format

Documents

The documents section allows you to select how many documents get created when you export. This can be one document or one document per book.

Export options documents

Record Types

The Record Types section allows you to specify which annotation types you would like to include in the export.

Export options record types

Sorting

The Record Types section allows you to specify how your Kindle Highlights are sorted.

Export options sorting

Citation Style

The Citation Style option allows you to specify one of the following citation styles:

  • None
  • Simple
  • Chicago
  • APA
  • MLA
Export options citation style

Preview

The Preview Section provides a preview of how individual highlights will appear based on your export settings.

Export options preview

Auto Export

Turn on Auto Export to enable your Kindle Highlights to be exported whenever you import new Highlights.

Export options auto export

This option is only available for exports to Integrations.

History

The History Section shows how many highlights have been exported for the selected export destination. Click the Reset button will allow previously exported records to be exported again the next time you perform an export.

Export options history